Articles 935 views February 4, 2021

Getting proper healthcare is the basic right for every citizen of our country. But if we look at the data, more than 1 million people die every day because of the unavailability of proper healthcare facilities. Apart from this, around 700 million people do not have access to specialist care as more than 80% of specialists like to work in urban areas. Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY) was launched in March 2006 to correct regional inequalities when it comes to the accessibility of affordable healthcare services. One of the other aims of this plan was to ensure the expansion of facilities promoting superior medical education in the under-served states so that the problem of lower specialists can be solved.

One of the main thoughts behind launching Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana was to ensure three E’s — Expand, Equity and Excellence in the field of healthcare. One of the basic needs to access top-notch health care facilities is the expansion of tertiary care facilities, and this plan ensures the same by providing equal distribution to different population backgrounds.

We will talk here about the objective of the AIIMS Act, different implementation phases & other details associated with the Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana. Keep reading to know more!

Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana Components

There are mainly two components of Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana. The first component is to ensure the setting up of AIIMS like institutions, and the second one is the upgradation of Government Medical College (GMC) or Institutions.

A total of 22 new AIIMS have been announced under the AIIMS Act so far of which 6 are already functional. Each new AIIMS should have the following things –

  1. State-of-the-art Modular Operation Theatres and Diagnostic Facilities
  2. 15 to 20 Super Speciality Departments
  3. 750 Beds
  4. 100 Undergraduate (MBBS) seats
  5. 60 B.Sc. (Nursing) seats
  6. Focus on Post Graduate Education & Research

Whereas 75 projects have been chosen for upgradation under different phases. Each project would add up the following things –

  1. 8 to 10 Super Speciality Departments
  2. Around 15 new Postgraduate seats
  3. 150 to 250 new beds

What Was the Objective Behind Setting up AIIMS Act?

You must have heard about the excellence of healthcare that people usually get in the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS). Well, to ensure the creation of advanced tertiary healthcare infrastructure, world-class medical education and research facilities in different parts of the country, the government has been setting up new AIIMS to achieve the following objectives-

  1. Development of uniform teaching pattern in both undergraduate and postgraduate medical education at all its branches
  2. To bring together all the best educational facilities in one place for the training of medical personnel working in important branches of health activating
  3. To achieve self-sufficiency in postgraduate medical education

To ensure the above objectives, AIIMS can perform the following activities that you can check!

  1. Provide training to the teachers for the different medical colleges in India
  2. Provide undergraduate and postgraduate teaching in the science of modern medicine and other allied sciences (this will also include physical and biological sciences)
  3. Conduct experiments via new methods of medical education (both undergraduate and postgraduate) so that individuals can get such standard of education
  4. Provide proper facilities for research purposes in different medical colleges in India

Different Phases of Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana

The expansion of healthcare in different parts of India through setting up new AIIMS and upgrading of Government Medical Colleges cannot be done in a short period. That’s why Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana has been divided into many phases. We are showing them below. Please check!

Phases of Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha YojanaAIIMSGMC Upgradation
Phase 1Bhubaneswar, Bhopal, Jodhpur, Patna, Raipur, RishikeshTotal of 19 GMCs in places like Tirupati, Trivandrum, Madurai Medical College, Bangalore, Lucknow, Varanasi, Hyderabad, etc.
Phase 2Raebareli (U.P.)
Phase 3Total of 39 GMCs in places like Berhampur, Burla, Patiala, Udaipur, Warangal, etc.
Phase 4Mangalagiri (Andhra Pradesh), Gorakhpur (U.P.), Kalyani (West Bengal) Nagpur (Maharashtra)Total of 13 GMCs (Agra, Kanpur, Cuttack, Indore, Jaipur, Surat, Patna, Bihar, Bhagalpur, Gaya, GTBH, Bilaspur)
Phase 5Awantipora (Kashmir), Samba (Jammu), Darbhanga (Bihar), Bilaspur (H.P.), Madurai (Tamilnadu), Guwahati (Assam),5 (A) - SCTIMST Trivandrum & IMS BHU (U.P.)

5(B) - RIO at IMS BHU, and IGIMS Patna
Phase 6Rajkot (Gujarat). Deoghar (Jharkhand),
Phase 7Bibinagar ( Telangana)
Phase 8Manethi (Haryana)

People Also Read